In Maine, a person may not sell, solicit or negotiate insurance for any class or classes of insurance unless the person is licensed for that line of authority in accordance with Title 24-A: Maine Insurance Code.

An individual must met the following requirements to apply for a resident insurance producer license in Maine:

  1. Be at least 18 years of age
  2. Has not committed any act that would be grounds for denial, suspension or revocation as set forth in Maine law.
  3. Has paid all required fees
  4. Has successfully passed the exam(s) for the line(s) of authority for which the person has applied

Fees:

Resident

Application Fee

License Fee

Total Amount

Producer

$15

$30

$45

Nonresident

Producer

$15

$70

$85

When a license is issued under Title 24-A, although issued to the individual, it is at all times the property of the state of Maine. Upon request, the license shall be returned to the Bureau of Insurance.

For more information refer to the Maine insurance producer, adjuster, and consultant licensing laws contained in Title 24-A, M.R.S.A. Chapter 16.

Be Sociable, Share!